Back to CDI's Website...

Vist State's FAQ Site...
AN EXPLANATION OF THE NEW TEENAGE DRIVERLICENSE APPLICATION PROCEDURES & LOG SHEET (Log Sheets Provided Below)

Effective July 1, 1999, Colorado has a new law that changes how minors get their instruction permit and driver license. The law significantly changes rules on applying for a permit and also restricts the license of drivers under 17 years of age.
Graduated licensing systems are designed to make beginning drivers accumulate sufficient behind-the-wheel experience before they receive an unrestricted driver’s license.
As of July 1, 1999, minors can be issued an instruction permit at age 15 years if they are enrolled in a driver education class. Proof of enrollment, along with identification, is required at the time of application. First time instruction permits must be held for at least six months and minors must be at least 16 years old before they can obtain a Colorado driver license.
When applying for a driver’s license, minors must submit a log of driving experience if they obtained an instruction permit on or after July 1, 1999. A total of 50 hours of driving experience under adult supervision (21 or older) is required and a minimum of 10 of those hours must be at night.
The Drive Time Log Sheet is provided when a minor instruction permit is obtained Drive Time Log Sheets also are available at certified driver education schools. The driving experience must be verified by the applicant’s driving education instructor, a parent or guardian.
Minors under age 17 who get a driver’s license on or after July 1, 1999 are restricted from driving during the hours of midnight and 5:00 a.m., unless accompanied by their parent or legal guardian. Exceptions are: driving to and from work, an emergency, or if the city and/or county of residency has enacted its own curfew. Minors driving to and from work during restricted times must have in their possession a signed statement from their employer, parent or guardian stating work schedule times.
Passenger restrictions also apply to licensed drivers under 17 years of age. Each passenger must wear a seat belt. Only one passenger is allowed in the front seat, and the number of back seat passengers cannot exceed the number of seat belts.
Violators of the new graduated driver license law are subject to penalties. Minors convicted of driving between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. are subject to 2 points on their driving record. Conviction of driving a motor vehicle without wearing a seat belt or transporting more passengers than the vehicle’s seat belt capacity are 2 point convictions each. A total of 6 points can result in the denial, suspension, or cancellation of a minor’s driving privileges.
For driver license office locations, drive test appointment information or other driver license services, call the Motor Vehicle Division at (303) 205-5600.

COLORADO STATE PATROL / PUBLIC AFFAIRS / 303.239.4532
Note: This announcement supercedes all previous announcements.

Print this and use it...

Print this and use it...

Back to CDI's Website...