Go to CDI's Home Page...

~ LAWS FOR NEW DRIVERS ~
What The State Of Colorado Requires You To Do
To Get Your Colorado Instruction Permit:

If you are 15 years old but less than 15 years and 6 months, the State of Colorado requires you to:
∑ -- Be at least 15 years of age or older the day their Driver Education Class begins
∑ -- Be enrolled, attending, and participating in a State approved 30-hour Driver Education Class or taking an approved Home Study Education Correspondence Course
∑ -- AND be enrolled in a minimum of 6-hours of Behind-The-Wheel training lessons with a
certified Driver Education Instructor

If you are 15 years and 6 months but less than 16 years of age, the State of Colorado requires you to:
∑ -- Attend and complete an approved Pre-qualification 4-hour Driver Awareness Program
∑ -- OR be enrolled, attending, and participating in a State approved 30-hour Driver Education Class or taking an approved Home Study Education Correspondence Course

Reminders for teenagers, under the age 18, with their Colorado Instruction Permit:
* A teen under the age of 16 may not drive with anyone except their driving instructor, parent, legal guardian, or step parent
* A teen 16 years of age or older may drive with any licensed driver 21 years of age or older
* No cell phone use while driving.

The Colorado Driving Instituteís primary concern is for the safety of our students. We strongly recommend to all of the new drivers attending our classrooms, regardless of their age, to enroll in the 30-hour Driver Education Class as well as Behind-The-Wheel training lessons. This is an extensive training program that best prepares the students for the day-to-day responsibility of being behind the wheel of a car.

What The State Of Colorado Requires You To Do To Get Your Colorado Driverís License:If you are under 18 years of age, the State of Colorado requires you to:
∑ -- Be at least 16 years of age or older to get your Colorado Driverís License
∑ -- Hold your Colorado Instruction Permit for one full year (from the original date the Colorado Instruction Permit was issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles)
∑ -- AND have completed and signed (by the parent or legal guardian that signed the Affidavit of Liability for the Instruction Permit) the Drive Time Log sheet with a total of 50 hours of drive time which must include at least 10 hours of night driving.

If you are 18 years of age or older, the State of Colorado requires you to:
∑ Pass the written Instruction Permit exam
∑ Pass the Behind-The-Wheel Driverís Test

Reminders for teenagers, under the age of 18, with their Colorado Driverís License:
* No passengers under the age of 21 until you have had your license for at least six months
* No more than one passenger under the age of 21 until you have had your license for one year.
* No driving between 12:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. until you have had your license for at least one year, unless accompanied by a parent/ legal guardian
And As Always: Buckle Up! Itís The Law.

NOW THAT YOU HAVE YOUR DRIVER'S LICENSE: Congratulations on passing your drive test. Although you now have your drivers license, and are under the age of 18, regardless of when you where issued your permit, there are still a few things you need to be aware of. The new law does not allow you to drive between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless you have your parent or guardian (the same person that signed the DR2460, Affidavit of Liability Guardianship) in the car with you. The only exceptions to this are if your are driving to and from your job, if it is an emergency or if the city and/or county where you live has already has it's own curfew. If you are driving to and from work, you will need to carry a statement signed by your employer or your parent or guardian stating the time you arrive at and leave your job. While you are under the age of 18, when your carry passengers, everyone riding with you must wear their seat belt. Only one passenger can ride in the front seat with you and you can only carry as many passengers in the back seat as the vehicle you are driving has seat belts for. Once you reach 18 years of age, these restrictions will no longer apply to you. Your license will expire 20 days after your 21st birthday. Have a safe journey and the DMV will see you when you turn 21.

The Job Permit Card provided below can be printed, laminated and carried in your wallet. Place your mouse pointer on the image and click the Printer Icon visible in the upper left corner of the image.

Carry this in your pocket...

 

State-Wide Services / Toll Free: 800.861.3191 / FAX: 303.395.0392

Privacy Notice: Colorado Driving Institute does not share your personal information with any third parties, ever!

Disclaimer: Driving is the most dangerous activity anyone participates in on a regular basis. Although driver's education insurance rates are among the lowest, and accidents are far below average, Colorado Driving Institute cannot guarantee anyone's safety while driving an automobile.